Colleges to Shoot for National Titles in San Antonio | Outdoor Channel
  • like this.
Upgrade Today
Story Posted

Colleges to Shoot for National Titles in San Antonio

By: National Shooting Sports Foundation

SAN ANTONIO - Two college sports events - the Intercollegiate Clay Target Championships and men's basketball Final Four - will team up to draw thousands of fans to San Antonio next week.

More than 255 shooters from 33 colleges and universities will shoot for a national title in shotgun sports April 10-13 at the National Shooting Complex.

At the basketball event, only 20 starters from four schools will shoot for the championship.

"We're having fun with numbers, but for the 5.5 million Americans who enjoy shotgun sports either recreationally or competitively, the collegiate national championships really are a big deal," said Chris Dolnack of the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF), a major sponsor of the annual championship event.

Dolnack added, "Our sports don't have 44,000-seat arenas, but if fans want to see Olympic-style shooting by great college athletes, admission is free."

The championship will consist of four disciplines including international trap and skeet and American trap and skeet. Competition will be held in men's, women's and team divisions. Scholarships and spots on Olympic development teams will be awarded.

Lindenwood University will compete for its fifth straight team championship. Standing in the way, though, are pre-registered shooters from:

Blinn College
Colorado State University
Folsom Lake College
Fort Hays State University
George Mason University
Iowa State University
Kansas State University
Mississippi State University
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Oklahoma State University
Ozarka College
Purdue University
Radford University
Sam Houston State University
Schreiner University
Southeastern Illinois College
Texas A&M University
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Trinity University
United States Military Academy
University of Arkansas-Fayetteville
University of Central Missouri
University of Florida
University Of Louisiana-Lafayette
University of Missouri-Columbia
University of Nebraska-Omaha
University of Tennessee-Martin
University of Texas-Arlington
University of Virginia
University of Wyoming
Virginia Tech University
Yale University

Intercollegiate Clay Target Championships sponsors include the Association of College Unions International, NSSF, Winchester, National Rifle Association, Amateur Trapshooting Association and Hall of Fame, USA Shooting and National Skeet Shooting Association/National Sporting Clays Association.

Share This Story



Sponsored Content

Explore the United States Explore the United States Explore the United States. Find information about and activities within your state.
Get Started